The Best Things In Life Are ??

    • Katrina survivors still struggling/attempts at union busting/Bloomberg bullshittin’
    • The price of gas/conflicts in Africa/fans tryin’ to regulate celebs personal choices
    • Aretha is sick/Prof. Marable has passed on/Uncle Tom debates
    • Libya/Japan/Haiti/Afghanistan
    • Recession/depression….STOP!!!

It’s enough to make you wanna holla, throw up both your hands; its enough to make you wanna stab somebody in the eye with a No. 2 pencil.

Suicide attempts have increased dramatically in the last five years…but fortunately most don’t consider suicide a viable option. We opt to forge on…hopeful that things will change. They will change, wont they? Your guess is as good as mine…but we forge on.

So how does one cope amidst all this negativity? Maybe we could start by being thankful for life’s tender mercies: The little things……the appreciation of that smile from someone who believes in you…the pride you feel when a child comes to you for answers(the questions don’t matter… feeling needed does), the satisfaction you get when you and your mate make a plan for next week or next year and that plan comes together…that warm feeling you get when you help somebody without being asked. Might also help to have a good sense of balance…and oh yeah…I know what you thinking right now…(1)where can one find a sense of balance in a world that seems to be going to hell in a handbasket and (2)dammit even the cost of that ride is expensive and money is what most of us don’t have a lot of…. so where???

I thought you’d never ask! I got you!

There was a song recorded a long, long time ago by the Inkspots called : “The Best Things In Life Are Free”…so after you google The Inkspots ( you music buffs will enjoy the history ), I need you to come on back and check out my list of places you can go and get reacquainted with your sense of balance… places that are FREE (most only require the cost of a bus or subway ride so use that metro card you were gonna use if you went to work). I’ve been to all the places listed and generally the best time to go is early morning when there is less foot traffic… for those of you fortunate enough to have a job this means you need to take a “mental health” day; trust me….your boss is not impressed with the number of days you’ve accrued…so come on …be good to yourself (and by extension, your family) take a Tuesday or Wednesday off and go someplace and be quiet.

What follows is just a short list of quiet places…Im sure wherever you are in the world you know of places like these…and I would like to know about them too …please feel free to share.

I leave you with this free advice from a back in the day radio jock: No matter how crazy life gets… DON’T LOSE YOUR HEAD…YOU NEED YOUR HEAD…YOUR BRAINS ARE IN IT!

BROOKLYN BOTANICAL GARDENS
http://www.bbg.org/ My favorite spots are the Japanese Hill and Pond Garden and the benches in the area that overlook the Cherry Esplanade. You can feel the stress suddenly finding someplace else to go.

HIGHLINE PARK
http://www.thehighline.org/ This park is relatively new and the history of its origin is interesting. Get up early, pack your breakfast and enjoy it while you relax and watch boats glide up and down the Hudson River. Peaceful and inspirational.
.
FORT TYRON PARK
http://www.nycgovparks.org/parks/forttryonpark/highlights/12337 Talk about life’s tender mercies…Heather Garden, the views of the Hudson River from one of the highest points in Manhattan and the New Jersey Palisades are all spectacular….Im so sure these views fall into the category of what author Zora Neale Hurston describes as “a glance from God”.

BROOKLYN MUSEUM
http://www.flickr.com/photos/pepperknit/2769379255/ Located on the corners of Eastern Parkway and Washington Avenue is the Brooklyn Museum. Take a seat on the steps and immerse yourself in the soothing sounds of the steady thump, thump, thump of the water fountains. Exhale….nice!

STATEN ISLAND FERRY
http://gonyc.about.com/cs/attractions/p/statenislandf.htm Best times are on weekends in the very early morning hours or weekdays between the standard rush hours; gazing over the waters of the Atlantic Ocean and seeing the Statue of Liberty and what she is supposed to represent is comforting…hopeful even.

by : miss peaches from brooklyn

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on April 25, 2011.

6 Responses to “The Best Things In Life Are ??”

  1. […] in memory of kenneth walker […]

  2. Nice post. So true! Serves as a reminder to take my little guy on the ferry this summer. It’s so relaxing ..until he wants to explore the ferry and i have visions of him falling over…wait i thought this was supposed to be relaxing:)

  3. Miss Peaches, I feel you on the serenity one can find at Brooklyn Museum. Now I’m from Cali, so relaxing comes naturally to me. However, the hustle and bustle of NYC make me anxious and I have a hard time finding my center. Well, I sure did find peace one sunny 80 degree day on the grassy “steps” of Brooklyn Museum. I took a book and a red cup full of my mother-in-law’s famous rum punch. I had all intentions of reading a couple of chapters while I soaked up the sun. About a page into my book, I sat the cup down, closed my eyes, and woke up about an hour later. I’m not a great sleeper nor am I one of those people who can fall asleep anywhere, especially not in a public place on itchy grass, but I was lulled to sleep that day! I definitely plan to visit the other places on your list. This time, I’ll bring a blanket!

  4. FORGET ABOUT ACTUALLY GOING TO THESE LOCATIONS, JUST READING ABOUT THEM WAS A STRESS REDUCING EXERCISE.
    I HAVE ALWAYS TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF THE CITY’S TWO MOST DRAMATIC AND YET, CHEAPEST DATES — 1. RIDING ON THE STATEN ISLAND FERRY AND 2. WALKING ACROSS THE BROOKLYN BRIDGE ( ONLY THE BROOKLYN BRIDGE COUNTS, IT IS THE STANDARD BY WHICH ALL OTHER BRIDGES ARE MEASURED ).
    BOTH THESE ACTIVITIES SHOULD TAKE PLACE AFTER DARK – IT ADDS TO THE ROMANCE AND OBSCURES THE CHEAP NATURE OF THE EXPERIENCE.
    RECENTLY, A NOW MATURE LADY FRIEND, TOLD ME THAT IT WAS SEVERAL MONTHS BEFORE SHE REALIZED THAT WE, AS YOUNG FOLKS, HAD GONE ON TWO VERY PLEASANT DATES AND YET, I HAD ONLY SPENT LESS THAN A DOLLAR IN TOTAL.
    SO, I APPLAUD THE AUTHOR FOR SHARING THIS INFORMATION WITH A NEW
    GENERATION OF LOVERS DEALING WITH A TOUGH ECONOMY.

  5. Love it! I feel a “mental health” day coming soon! Thanks Miss Peaches!

  6. Hello Ms. Peaches,

    I definitely hear you on being thankful for those little things that make us human and help us feel connected… the smile, being needed.

    As for quiet time…*in my lowest stage whisper* I concur.

    Hugzzzz (the kind that come with a squeeze)🙂

Leave a Reply

 
