“On A Humble”

URBAN DICTIONARY DEFINITION : on a humble taking a gamble on something or making a shot in the dark. Pursuing or pressing on in the face of uncertainty. To act on instinct, going with one’s gut. reliance on luck or chance. Not based on fact.

Sixth sense, intuition, on a humble, something told me to….these are words we use to explain the seemingly inexplicable.
We all have had those moments, when we make a decision based on nothing more than it just feels right. Indulge me for a few minutes…play the Twilight Zone music in your head as you read about my latest “on a humble” experience.

I usually buy the New York Times but only on Thursday cause I have it in my head that on Thursdays I’m more likely to find an “off the beaten path “type of story…like the time I read about Reggie Love and how he came to be then presidential hopeful Barack Obamas’ right hand man. As luck(?) would have it though, I didn’t buy the Times a couple of Thursdays ago but my son sent me an email late that afternoon telling me that he had read that Jay-Z was gonna be interviewed by Charlie Rose at the Brooklyn Museum. I live nearby so I walked over there kicking myself the whole time for not getting the paper that day.

Tickets were sold out!

Later on that night, my son, after hearing that I didn’t get the ticket suggested that I walk over there on the day of the interview anyway. “You never know what will happen” were his exact words. I agreed, but I put it out of my head until the day of the interview arrived. All day I was on some “should I?” followed by “nah, I’m not gonna bother” followed by a decisive “yes, I’m gonna go…I don’t have anything to lose”…this went on all afternoon until the “yes, Im gonna go” finally won out.

Armed with only a feeling that something positive was gonna play out, I walked my no ticket having self over to the museum. First person I ran into was a Jamaican security guard who engaged me in conversation and then let me wait in the lobby until the ticket line opened. So there I was… all by myself, sitting on one of those lovely marble benches in the museum lobby. One of the things that gives me pleasure (and is free) is people watching, so I was quite content to sit there and watch the different type of people who came in, got their tickets, then their wrists bands and finally their free copy of Jay Z’s book “Decoded”.

You can sense the “on a humble” coming, cant you? Exactly! A young woman and two men, one of whom appeared to be her man walked over to where I was sitting. He said to her, “Just sit here until we come back” and as he walked away she said something under her breath that made me laugh. We started talking and she asked if I was here for the interview taping. I said “hopefully” and told her my story. Again, as luck (?) would have it her man had extra tickets…she texted him… he sold me the ticket (FOR FACE VALUE) and voila….I was in!

I guess you’ve noticed that twice I used the word “luck” followed by a question mark. I used to think I was very lucky but not so much anymore. Nowadays, I tend to think more in terms of my sixth sense…that little voice in my head that more times than not has guided me towards some really nice people and experiences. I think the inner voice is the instrument used to guide us towards what is already written. Think for a moment about a line from Stevie Wonders’ “As” (“now I know sometimes life’s hate and troubles, can make you wish you were born in another time and place…but you can bet your life, times that and twice its double, that God knew exactly where he wanted you to be placed”. This is not about any particular religious belief (except for an occasional wedding or funeral, I cant tell you the last time I’ve been in a church). I am, however, deeply spiritual and I really believe that most of what happens to us is not accidental or “lucky”at all…I firmly believe that “it is already written”. I often use the lives of Malcolm X and Jay Z to support this idea.
A quick aside: The interview was excellent. (The taping was on Nov.18th; check your local guide for the airing date on PBS). Jay Z had his Mother and his wife in the audience; he was relaxed and witty. The best part though came during the question and answer session after the interview was over…someone asked him what he hope to come away with in terms of accomplishments in his life and he answered that he was recently on the cover of Forbes Magazine with Warren Buffet and everybody was saying how extraordinary that was…he went on to say that his goal is to make the extraordinary….ordinary. Nice.
Yes it’s true….I’m a huge fan, but back to the matter at hand…
I walked home grinning from ear to ear…not so much because I’d gotten a ticket to a sold out taping but at the chain of events that guided me there. …and Im not naive…I know it’s not really unusual for people to have extra tickets available at any event…but when you think about how many of those people would sell the ticket for face value…the odds increase dramatically….and when you add to that mix that “nudge” I got to go over there and sit down and wait for them to come to me….well….you see what I mean, right?
So now I’m curious…do you believe(or not) in your inner voice and do you listen (or not) to what it’s telling you?

by : miss peaches from brooklyn

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on November 27, 2010.

7 Responses to ““On A Humble””

  1. I believe there is No God But God.. and the Prophet Muhammad Is his messanger. I believe that God has given us choice, in life to do what we will 9By the will of God’s acceptance).. But I also believe God started you at destination, point A,… and he will bring you to destination point B!… any way he wants you to go. by choice you can do bad, by choice you can do good. If you should do good; you’re more than likeley going to have a good life, and visa versa. If you do bad, you will probably have a bad life. So, no matter what, you can go to point B by walking through the back door, or you can go to point B by walking to the front. I don’t doubt things happen for a reason, but thank god we have a choice, even though, I believe it’s been choosen to happen this way anyways.. ahamduAllah thank god lol Peace😉

  2. I sometimes feel that issues subside in the back of our minds and it’s our sixth sense that brings it to the forefront to make us pay attention. Over the years, I’ve learned to listen to it more…not as much as I should, I definitely more than I did 20 years ago.

  3. Peaches,

    I’m not so sure about my inner voice since it can be conflicted as I do the “is that logical?” thing. I just go with my heart and how I feel…wonder if that’s the same thing?

  4. I am a big believer in listening to your inner voice! Like you Peaches, I am more spiritual than religious and use my inner voice, sixth sense, and on a humble feelings to guide my steps. Malcolm Gladwell wrote an entire book about following your gut, Blink – this post was much more entertaining – but the bottom line is same. Our insticts are very capable of leading us down the path on which we are meant to travel!!

  5. inner voice equals 6th sense. don’t always ingore it. It’s usually right. when your inner vboice tells you that you are superior than everyone you know and you secretly think you are successful beacause of material thats when your inner voice is wrong…my time is up peace out to Brooklyn….
    100!

  6. A FRIEND ALERTED ME THAT MISS PEACHES HAD WRITTEN A FOLLOW UP
    ARTICLE TO HER – YANKEE STADIUM SUMMER CONCERT ITEM. I WAS
    PLEASED TO SEE THAT SHE IS NOT A “ONE HIT WONDER.”
    THE EARLIER ARTICLE HAD A SENSE OF EXCITEMENT WHICH I FELT AND I
    AM NOT A FAN OF THE MUSICAL GENRE SHE WAS EXTOLLING. THE PASSION OF THAT EARLY ARTICLE WAS REPLACED BY A SENSE OF THREE ELEMENTS
    IN THIS PIECE:

    *SCIENCE FICTION
    THERE WAS, AS THE AUTHOR NOTED, A “TWILIGHT ZONE” ELEMENT TO THE CHAIN OF EVENTS WHICH UNFOLDED TO BRING HER FROM POINT A
    ( SITTING AT HOME ) TO POINT B ( BEING PRESENT AT
    THE JAY Z INTERVIEW).
    *SPIRITUALITY
    HER INTERPRETATION THAT THESE EVENTS WERE BEYOND MERE COINCIDENCE AND ATTRIBUTED TO A SIXTH SENSE ELEMENT PRESENT IN EACH OF US, IF WE WILL ALLOW IT TO FUNCTION AT FULL STRENGTH AND NOT IGNORE IT BECAUSE WE DON’T FULLY UNDERSTAND THE SIGNALS GIVEN US.
    *PHILOSOPHY
    THE APPROACH TO LIFE AS BEING A PATH AND WE HAVE THE ABILITY TO MAKE THAT SLIGHT TURN TO LEFT OR RIGHT IS VERY MUCH AT THE HEART OF ALL HUMAN EXPERIENCE — MY BEING ALERTED TO THIS SITE IS A MINI EXAMPLE OF HOW AN EXPERIENCE COULD BE MISSED WITH JUST THE SMALLEST ALTERATION OF CIRCUMSTANCES.
    THIS ARTICLE REALLY APPEALED TO ME — IF I HAVE NOT ALREADY MADE THAT VERY CLEAR.

  7. Thank you for those comments Big Gaff…and thank you to everybody who responds; its appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
