UpDate:Home @ Home….Yankee Stadium

One of my sons recently thanked me for including the likes of Aretha Franklin (Amazing Grace), Stevie Wonder (Songs in the Key of Life) and Bill Withers (Best of Bill Withers) in the soundtrack of his teenage days. Him thanking me like that made  me realize that while he appreciated the music back then…he has grown to respect it now. Classics!

saw this on rapradar


So it is with this in mind that I suggest that you gather up all the people you can find who were lucky enough to go to the Home to Home concert in Yankee Stadium featuring Jay-Z and Eminem. Let them tell you the story of the music  and pass it on to your children who will no doubt appreciate it now and respect it later.

Good…so now you have what you need in terms of the music…cause Im sure your friends mentioned that Eminem opened the show and during his set he brought out Dr. Dre, 50, D-12…and of course they mentioned that  Jay-Z  brought out Kanye, Nicki Minaj, Beyonce, Drake, Chris Martin from Coldplay…so unless at some point somebody scrambled on stage and shot the drummer through the heart…no surprises here…as my pal “Country” from England is fond of saying…the music was BRILLIANT!

So walk with me now as I guide you through some of the sights in the stadium that provided an almost perfect backdrop to this HISTORIC AND STUPENDOUS event.
My section (right around where Yankee Nick Swisher patrols…think lower balcony at the Apollo on a grander scale) included white folk that outnumbered the rest of us 20 to 1. One family in particular caught my attention: Mother in her 40’s or so…older father and little Ben (about 12) and little Becky (about 14); before the show started they were sitting there, chit-chatting , eating nachos and stuff…but when Eminem hit the stage, little Ben threw up the hoodie over his head and start spitting everything…word for word. I mean not just spitting… but going in hard…gangsta bumping all up in his sister face and stuff! She was busy taking pictures and clearly annoyed at her little brothers enthusiasm. ..but when Hova came on it was her turn to spaz out…and spaz out she did…word for word…and the mother???…homegirl joined in with everybody…Em, Hova, Dre, 50…word for word…They were so much fun to watch!

Also in my section was the ever present “Leroy”…a name used by my sons when describing overly ambitious security people)…he was about 150 pounds soaking weight but with the NYC police on hand to back him up…he was large and in charge! Threatened to throw out a few people that he deemed “unruly”…funny thing was…even the police were snickering behind his back. Riot averted. What made Leroy even funnier was in my section, and probably all over the stadium (an open air stadium, mind you)…if you didn’t get a contact high….you were dead. I guess that slipped right by him. Hilarious!

Prices for refreshments at places like Madison Square Garden and Yankee Stadium are notoriously high, but it was almost worth paying $8.00 for a beer and $4.00 for a bag of chips to witness the “service with a smile” attitude of the vendors…in this flaky economy they have jobs…AND they get to hear the concert live???…how much you wanna bet NOBODY called in sick on Monday!

Hmmm…I just remembered something else about the atmosphere…there was a thunderstorm before the doors opened….and it cleared. Does that constitute further proof that among others, Jay-Z has the Devil in his pocket? Jokes people…jokes…I couldn’t resist taking a shot at the illuminati theorists.

I have about five different Jay-Z concerts under my belt now so I have to agree with another friend of mine…hip hop is probably better enjoyed in a smaller, more intimate venue…but I must say that the stadium atmosphere is perfect for theatrics… like the fireworks at the end of Em’s set. Jay-Z has a flair for the dramatic too…his pre-set hype includes a huge clock that reads 10:00 and counts down second by second…with the crowd buzz getting louder and louder until the clock reaches 10 seconds and then the crowd (50 thousand strong) as if on cue starts to count down…ten, nine, eight, seven…at the end of the count the atmosphere is so electric, it feels like the venue is gonna explode!

The significance of the location was not lost on Em …he acknowledged that he was happy to be in the Bronx …where hip-hop originated. Nice! Along that same acknowledgment vein…Jay-Z included the late great Guru when he paid homage to those who laid the groundwork. Nice!

Okay….remember earlier…when I told you to pass the concert info on to the young ones…here’s something else they will no doubt appreciate now and respect later:

Like all intelligent royalty should…Jay-Z leads his kingdom by example…so…how do you see your future???…you wanna rap…you wanna be an astute businessman…wanna be an innovator, wanna diversify…do you wanna take care of all you don’t know by surrounding yourself with people who do…wanna keep people outta your personal business…do you wanna be excellent at WHATEVER…do you want RESPECT????….

PAY ATTENTION TO THE KING…JAY- HOVA…HE WILL SHOW YOU HOW TO GET ALL THAT DONE…BRILLIANTLY!

by : peaches from bklyn

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on September 21, 2010.

7 Responses to “UpDate:Home @ Home….Yankee Stadium”

  1. I WAS BORN JUST WEEKS BEFORE THE JAPANESE SURRENDERED IN RESPONSE
    TO ACTIONS SET IN MOTION BY THEIR ILL BEHAVIOR AT PEARL HARBOR IN 1941.
    I AM NOT A MUSIC PERSON. I KNOW LITTLE ABOUT WHAT MAKES MUSIC TICK, BUT I KNOW WHAT I LIKE.
    I HAVE NO AFFECTION FOR RAP/ HIP HOP/ WHATEVER THE CORRECT TERMS ARE FOR THIS GENRE.
    I AM NOT AGAINST THIS MUSICAL CATEGORY, I JUST DON’T APPRECIATE IT.
    THIS PIECE BY “PEACHES” WAS SO PASSIONATE AND FULL OF GRAND IMAGERY, THAT I FOUND MYSELF WANTING TO BE AT YANKEE STADIUM AND
    PARTAKING OF THE ENERGY AND SPIRIT THAT WAS SO WELL ILLUSTRATED
    IN THIS STORY.
    THIS WAS QUITE A LEAP FOR ME – WITHOUT HEARING A SINGLE NOTE OF
    MUSIC, I WAS CONCERNED ABOUT WHAT I MISSED AND I WAS ENVIOUS OF
    THOSE WHO VENTURED TO THE BRONX FOR THIS EXTRAVAGANZA OF TALENT.
    I RECOGNIZE THE WORTH OF TALENT, REGARDLESS OF THE PECULIAR
    ARRANGEMENTS OF NOTES CREATED BY THE ARTISTS.

  2. @Big Gaff…Thank you for that comment…Im glad I was able to help you see what I saw.

  3. This blog was brilliant. As a life long yankee fan My favorite lines would have to be “you sat where swisher patrols”. That painted a vivid picture for me. I also like the pot shot that was taken by the conspiracy theorist who thinks Jay Z is a member of the illuminati. I’m sure there were close to 50,000 yankee hats present, and not one act of violence reported…makes me go hmmmmmm http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/16/nyregion/16caps.html

  4. As usual, your words bring me right into the event and make me wish I had been there. I’m not a big Em fan, but seems like the pre-Jay audience antics, and those of your boy Leroy made the entire experience priceless! Loved “riot averted!”

  5. Miss Peaches, I love the way your words put us in the seat right next to you. Jay-Z is not only the man because of all the reasons you list, but he is also a very humble guy. I, being a supervisor of the “Leroys” of the world for over 16 years, have had a chance to see Jay-Z behind the scenes and he has never had his nose in the air. He is astute businessman and a real cool dude.
    Being born and raised in the Bronx, I have some in-site of the area around Yankee Stadium. That is truly Hip-Hop sacred ground. Before “rap” hit the radios or was put on wax, most of the pioneers of Hip-Hop performed at a place called “The Fever” which was a block away from the stadium. If you didn’t have skills you did not get on the Fever stage. Break dancing, rap, graffiti, all started right around that area.
    Your sons description of Leroy is spot on and had me on the floor. Leroy turns a easy money night into a hard money,long night.
    I look forward to anything you write Miss Peaches. You truly have a gift.

  6. i didn’t venture to the bronx, but after reading this I wish I did! You are right, our children need to understand what good quality music is. While Jay-Z is a great rapper and musician, I stand behind the model of success he represents. I have always been a brooklyn girl, but I can go hollywood, wall street, or the board room with anyone! That is surely a quality of our people, to be multi talented in all aspects. Our children need to know from whence we came! This was insightful to read and I am thankful you shared your experience, as it is those memories that make impressions that last a lifetime and influence all! Peace!

  7. @Too Black2Strong and bklynista: Thanks for the positive feedback; it’s appreciated!

Leave a Reply

 
