Reflections External – ‘the GURU edition’


As I sit here and reflect on the passing of another hip-hop legend, I
wonder what I could possibly say that would match his body of work. I
could talk about what a true poet Guru was…That he lived up to his
moniker in the purest sense…What an important group Gang Starr
was…What they meant to me. Or I could leave the tributes to all of
my other fellow blogers. Like my good friend and esteemed writer,
Datwon Thomas who summed things up short and sweet here:
http://bit.ly/9VJago. I just don’t know that I have it in me to do
another hip-hop eulogy. Not today.

In truth, I’m sitting here, trying to be philosophical about this
fragile thing we call life. I don’t know how much comfort it brings to
say or know that the departed are “in a better place” or have finally
“found peace”. Have they? I don’t know, but I sure hope so. Because
indeed, none of us are promised tomorrow. Which brings me to my two
cents for this week…that the tragedy of our beloved passing on, are
the broken hearts that stay behind with the living. And once we
collect the pieces of our broken hearts and wipe away the grief from
them, we’re then left with something. A handful of memories…perhaps
a deeper perspective…hopefully a chance to make a change for the
better.

Some of our fallen soldiers lived by the sword, and consequently died
by the sword. Others were simply trying to live a better life.
Whatever the story, when we look around us we can see that within our
“urban” communities, living a “good life” can often be an uphill
battle. Too many layers to peel back right now, but between health
issues, a sub par education system, drug problems and incarceration
rates, it’s not pretty. Ongoing struggles. And it doesn’t stop there.
The fine print reveals the silent killers…jealousy, envy and greed.
Sometimes we surround ourselves with people we think have our back.
Snakes in the grass aren’t always easy to detect. Managers,
“partners”, significant others, homies… Loyalty. Be careful with
that one.

We all make choices. And we assume they’re the best ones. And since
hindsight is 20/20, what is it that we can take away from these sad
songs with us? That life is precious. That we must take care of our
bodies, minds, hearts and souls from day one. That you already have
the tools inside you to do something better and break whatever cycle
you’re born into. And that it’s never in vain, or  too late to make
these changes. Pay attention to the warning signs. And while you can
use education and discipline as your armor, keep forgiveness and
healing as the core of your spirit.

R.I.P. Guru.

by third rail

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on April 21, 2010.

One Response to “Reflections External – ‘the GURU edition’”

  1. Very well said…calming even. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
