Reflections External

Time. Waiting. Two things that trouble me endlessly. I would say that
I’m generally a pretty tolerant person. But patience, on the other
hand, has never been my strong suit. I’ve spent years working on
this…trying to overcome it…trying to find some kind of harmony
within the madness of time. You might think I’m being dramatic about
it all, but let me tell you something — like fear and anger,
impatience is definitely a plague. One that left unattended, can
become a very ugly and destructive thing. And so, in coming to
understand the importance of being patient, I have realized that time
can be either your friend or your enemy…and that you get to choose
which one it’ll be.

I’ll say this much… Being a writer doesn’t help. Doing contract work
doesn’t help. And having deadlines constantly breathing down your neck
sure as hell doesn’t help. I guess we can say I’m a work in progress.

In my quest to be a little more zen about this unnatural relationship
with time, I found a passage in the I Ching that helps me during times
of internal struggle:

“Waiting is not mere empty hoping. It has the inner certainty of
reaching the goal. Such certainty alone gives that light which leads
to success. This leads to the perseverance that brings good fortune
and bestows power to cross the great water. One is faced with a danger
that has to be overcome. Weakness and impatience can do nothing. Only
a strong man can stand up to his fate, for his inner security enables
him to endure to the end. This strength shows itself in uncompromising
truthfulness [with himself]. It is only when we have the courage to
face things exactly as they are, without any sort of self-deception or
illusion, that a light will develop out of events, by which the path
to success may be recognized. This recognition must be followed by
resolute and persevering action. For only the man who goes to meet his
fate resolutely is equipped to deal with it adequately.”

I’m not saying that this passage is the answer to all my problems, but
it’s a helpful perspective. One that I’m sure to keep close to my
heart as I await answers on upcoming projects and looming deadlines.

Time. We can’t fight it. Waiting. We can’t really avoid it. Patience
is pretty much the best tool we have to help us get from point A to B.
Might as well do it with grace and ease rather than pain and
frustration.

by : third rail

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on April 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
