Reflections External

click on pic....lol...

“If I don’t like it, I don’t like it, that don’t mean that I’m hating”
~ Lonnie Rashid Lynn, Jr.

Word to Cornbread. This weeks blog is about opinions, assholes, and
other things of that nature. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve been accused of

being a “hater” many times throughout my life. Shocking! I know.

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m quick to shit on something I don’t
like, but I wouldn’t go as far as to say I’m a hater. I don’t
know…people drop that H bomb like it’s a pair of panties at the
strip club. Personally, I prefer to reserve such strong sentiments for
more momentous occasions…such as when 3 solid months of construction
begins next door in the midst of crazy deadlines. That’s when ALL your
senses are being assaulted (lunch time was just such a treat). That’s
when the mind is at the end of its tether and yeah, that’s when I’m
definitely feeling the hate. Sidebar: riding the subway with a
subsequent stress-induced eye twitch is never a good look. But I
digress…I bring all this up, because a few days ago one of my
comrades made a joke about me being a hater and turning my back on
hip-hop culture. No shock there. I can see why someone would think
that. I’m not really checking for most artists these days. I can admit
that. And if not being interested in anything Drake, or any of them
“kid” artists (Kid Cudi, Kidz In The Hall, The Cool Kids…am I
missing anyone?) or that broad with the weird fake nose and monster
ass (what’s her name? Nicki something or other) have to say makes me a
“hater”, then by all means I plead guilty as charged. But please don’t
tell me that I’m on some “hip-hop is dead” shit. That timeless
conversation piece seems to be making rounds again, and I gotta tell
you, I’m not having that fucking conversation. If you’re a lover of
any kind of music, then you already know what time it is, and not a
single other god damn person has the authority or the “intel” (which
is how it comes across as sometimes) to tell you what the hell is
going on with the state of any musical genre. Besides, hip-hop can’t
be dead because The Clipse are still making music.

At the end of the day, the bottom line is that every form of art gets
manhandled and abused. That’s the nature of the beast, and it’ll never
change. Art and business make strange bedfellows, and the higher the
stakes are, the stranger it gets. I’m not gonna get bitter about it
because there’s no sense in that. The system doesn’t change — you
just have to learn how to survive within it. I listen to music all day
every day. And while I may not be the poster child for all things rap
related anymore, I’ll take the spirit of this music to the grave with
me – don’t get it twisted. That’s not something I need to prove or
defend. It’s just what it is. Reality is never what we want it to be,
but there’s usually more to the story than we realize. Most of us take
art for granted, because we have both the means to make and access so
much of it. The truth of the matter is that music is something amazing
that has the ability to heal and even save people. In parts of the
world where art is still considered nonsensical and a waste of time,
everyday people are trying to make a change. And I’m not just talking
about freedom of expression. I’m talking about helping develop the
brains of children…teaching them to communicate…empowerment and
individuality. Take Egypt, for example. In Cairo, there’s an arts
center called Colours and Chords (Alwan Wa Awtar) that has spent the
last 3 years bringing various forms of art to local children. This
place has been running solely on sponsors, donor agencies and personal
resources. Pretty impressive. What’s more impressive is that they
train something like 4000 kids a year…lives that are hopefully
changing for the better. If you’re so inclined, you can check out
their site: http://www.alwan-awtar.org/

And so you see, with so much to appreciate and love, how could I
possibly have room for hate? I’ll still bitch and complain about the
bullshit, because being numb and docile has never been an option for
me. And yes, opinions are like assholes…everyone’s got one. My
opinion is “look where you have to, to find what you need”. I may be a
child of hip-hop culture, but I’m also a citizen of the world. That’s
how I keep my hope alive. Artists come, and artists go. The work stays
forever…and sometimes we can even get it right. Can’t be mad at
that.

by third rail

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on February 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
