in my lifetime

I woke up this morning to the news that Lil Wayne is gonna start his jail sentence today…and I thought…….boy oh boy……here we go……..more fodder for the fools.  Dont get me wrong…..Im not saying he is a “victim”; if he broke the law…then he has to do the time…thats how it works…..but I dont wanna be beat over the head for the next week by naysayers who are salivating at the chance to say….see….I told you so!  Waiting for people like that to present a bigger picture of the hip hop world is like waiting for the Pathmark in downtown Brooklyn to actually have in stock the sale items listed in the brochure…..  it aint gonna happen.

Old folks used to say if you want someting done…..do it yourself…..so thats, what Ive tried to do here:

Okay…….so it’s the fall of 2006 and Im newly retired after 37 years……and Im thinking about this one last labor grievance I need to finish cause retired or not, I cant leave a co-worker hanging like that…..when I get a call from my son saying your boy gonna be at BAM…tickets going on sale at 11:00 on Nov.21st, but you better get there real early ….and Im sooooo excited……..finally… Im gonna get to see the young man I have been listening to in concert for the first time.

Now it seems to me that sometimes what happens next is how my luck runs…..union organizer calls and the date for the aforementioned grievance  is…..you guessed it……Nov. 21st. Damn! I cant lie…..I sat for a while trying to think of a excuse to call and have the date rescheduled….but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Oh well, there will be other times….Im retired…so I got nothing to do and all day to do it.  Now remember….I said sometime that’s how my luck runs…but other times, especially when I do the right thing, I catch the devil sleeping and things just fall into place….so now it’s the morning of Nov. 21 and Im in a taxi nearing Brooklyn Bridge on my way to the grievance meeting when my cell rings…….its my organizer…….the grievance has been cancelled…….and I yell to the driver…..make a u-turn and take me to BAM!!!….and that’s how I came to join the line of fans waiting for Jay Z tickets to go on sale…four hours later it was my turn to buy my ticket and in the meantime I met some real interesting people and made a few observations:

Hip hop fans are not crazed gangsters armed to the teeth with glocks …….they just ordinary people like my three sons…..who grew up loving a genre of music that spoke to their souls…..just like Aretha spoke to my soul and Billie spoke to my Mothers soul and……well you get the idea. Ordinary people..decent young people…who have jobs and families and dreams…….Now Im a woman who is always looking for a sign and the sign that I was right where I belonged that morning was a Latina woman who was a new hire at the same job I had just retired from… she worked nights and had begged her supervisor to let her leave early so she could drive down from the Bronx to get in line. Now that’s a sign for your ass. So I spent the next few hours talking to her and others on the line – she was getting tickets for her and her sister…..it was her birthday weekend …and having a job and tickets to see Hova was gonna make it the best birthday weekend ever. Then there was a young lady who took her lunch early from Verizon so she could join the line…she grew up in Marcy and she was joined by a neighbor of hers who had been locked up but was out over a year now and doing good things for himself and his family…..he was surprising his wife with tickets to show his appreciation for holding him down when he went all stupid. Im telling you..I was surrounded by interesting, decent, young people and it was exciting and comforting all at once….then there was a much older man ….looked about my age….he drove in from Queens and was on line as a favor for his stock broker son…..old dude flirted with me from the time I stepped onto the line..that is until he found out I was on line for me…..then he was like….oh yeah…..I did this kinda thing before...in my time…its young people time now…and I don’t like that mess they call hip hop…it aint real music, blah, blah, blah (hate just dripping)…and I could have said a lotta stuff but all I said was….”does enjoying good entertainment have a time limit???…which sorta brings to mind  my other observation…why do we as parents when faced with  mistakes made by our own children always say……Its okay baby…..you can turn your life around..just work hard and you can be somebody”….and then turn right around and hate on living, breathing, productive examples of that same advice??? How hypocritical is that???…….and the kicker for me is…..YOU NEVER LISTEN TO THE MUSIC!!! Hell… you may or may not like it but you gotta at least listen first. But I didn’t come here to dwell on the negative…so…back to my concert experience…..I don’t need to tell you about the energy on Lafayette Ave. that night…….I don’t need to tell you how the pre-concert music was so good it was like a party in there even before the concert started…I don’t need to tell you that the henny was flowing and the air was on choke, and I certainly don’t need to tell you how Young Hova showed out……..you already know that. What I do need to tell you is I cant imagine leaving this earth not ever knowing about this music…..yall need to know that some of us (your parents and grandparents) are so proud…proud of the artists that took the lemons of what were their lives and made lemonade….proud of the fans who support the stories they tell. We are proud of all the jobs your music has generated and very proud of the mind boggling scope of the success of hip hop. Just proud…pleased as punch. I know you don’t need co-signing from us…..but come on now I don’t care how old you are or how successful you’ve become, who among you wouldn’t’ like to know that your parents are proud of you…so here it is…….thank you for making me swell with pride; keep up the good work……now go head and blush….that’s ok too!

authored by : miss peaches from bklyn….

~ by livefromheadqcourterz on February 9, 2010.

9 Responses to “in my lifetime”

  1. this is chuck platinum and I love your post its very compelling keep writing sister much love!

  2. I KNOW NOTHING OF LIL WAYNE — AFTER READING THIS COLUMN I
    LISTENED TO A THIRTY SECOND CLIP OF ONE OF HIS SONGS. AT FIRST, I WAS TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHY LIL JOHN WAS GOING TO JAIL, THEN IT
    DAWNED ON ME THAT I WAS CONFUSING THE LILs.

    I ADMIRE THE ENERGY GENERATED BY THE AUTHOR TO BE IN TWO PLACES AT ONCE – PLACING DUTY ABOVE SELF TO ATTEND THE HEARING AND BEING
    REWARDED WITH A POSTPONEMENT, WHICH WAS A GIFT FROM HEAVEN,HAS TO BE VERY NOURISHING TO THE SOUL – GOD DOES NOT USUALLY REWARD GOOD INTENTIONS SO DIRECTLY AND SO QUICKLY.
    TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND NOT SUFFER ILL CONSEQUENCES, AT LEAST IN THE SHORT-TERM, IS RARE.

    THE AUTHOR’S ABILITY TO FRATERNIZE AND BOND WITH FOLKS ON THE TICKET LINE GOES AGAINST THE STEREOTYPE OF THE COLD AND PARANOID NEW YORKER, PUTTING UP AN EMOTIONAL WALL
    AGAINST INTRUDING FELLOW CITIZENS.

    THE ENCOUNTER WITH THE STOCKBROKERS POP WAS TO BE EXPECTED — IN SEEING HIS MUSIC AS SUPERIOR AND IN SPEAKING OF “HIS TIME” IN THE PAST TENSE, HE SEEKS TO STAY IN SAFE WATERS OF THE PAST – BY EMBRACING THE NEW GENRE OF MUSIC AND BEHAVIOR, THE AUTHOR IS SHOWING A SENSE OF ADVENTURE AND A REJECTION OF AN ARTIFICIAL TIME BOUNDARY SEPARATING PEOPLE BY ERAS.

    “POP” MAY GAIN A SENSE OF SECURITY IN PROMOTING HIS YOUNGER DAYS AS BETTER THAN THIS CURRENT TIME AND PLACE — I JUST WROTE THAT OSCAR ROBERTSON WAS THE BEST BASKETBALL
    PLAYER EVER AND WAS MET WITH THE QUESTION – “WHO?” BY A RECENT COLLEGE GRADUATE.

    THERE IS SAFETY IN STICKING TO THINGS WE KNEW IN THE GOOD OLD DAYS – WE SURVIVED THE OLD DAYS AND EVENTUALLY WE WILL FAIL TO SURVIVE THE COMING DAYS – THE AUTHOR’S ABILITY TO GO WITH THE FLOW AND FULLY AND TRULY LIVE IN THE MOMENT IS THE MOST INTELLIGENT APPROACH, SHE IS GETTING TO LIVE ALL HER DAYS ON EARTH AND NOT JUST THOSE BEFORE RETIREMENT PLANNING BECAME A FOCUS OF CONCERN. RUNNING THE ENTIRE RACE IS NOT COMMON,
    MOST RUN THE FIRST THREE QUARTERS AND SIT OUT THE FINAL LAP – WHICH IN TURN INSURES THAT IT WILL BE THE FINAL LAP.

    MANY OF US CAN’T HOLD UP NEW STARS UNLESS WE PUT DOWN THE OLD ONES AND WE DON’T WANT TO DO THAT – OUR AUTHOR IS ABLE TO EMBRACE ALL AND THAT IS UNIQUE.

    UNIQUE AUTOMATICALLY MAKES YOU A MEMBER OF A MINORITY.

    G.W.G.

    AT FIRST, I WAS TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHY LIL JOHN WAS GOING TO JAIL, THEN IT
    DAWNED ON ME THAT I WAS CONFUSING THE LILs.
    I ADMIRE THE ENERGY GENERATED BY THE AUTHOR TO BE IN TWO PLACES AT ONCE – PLACING DUTY ABOVE SELF TO ATTEND THE HEARING AND BEING
    REWARDED WITH A GIFT FROM HEAVEN POSTPONEMENT

  3. Refreshing! Without a doubt a must read! Love it!

  4. Great post! Last night I was relaxing in my bedroom watching Krush Grove on TV One. My 12 year old came in the room to say good night, but got caught up in what was on my tv screen. She spied Kool Rock-Ski of the Fat Boys and asked, “Mommy is that Biggie when he was young?” I chuckled and responded, “No, Baby. That’s one of the Fat Boys an old school hip hop group that Mommy used to listen to.” My daughter ended up crawling in the bed and watching the remainder of the movie with me. Although I know her main goal may have been to actually buy a little more time before going to bed, I allowed her to stay up and watch because I love for her to experience pieces of my youth. I was 14 when Krush Groove came out and it was such a big deal for me back then to see all of these artists that I loved up on the big screen! LL Cool Jay, Sheila E, Run DMC, New Edition, Kurtis Blow… Heck even at 39 I still get excited! So I hear ya Miss Peaches from Brooklyn! I, too, am “very proud of the mind boggling scope of the success of hip hop” and as my daughter marveled at a young LL and a young Bobby Brown and Kurtis Blow and Run DMC, I marveled also because “we’re” still here and we ain’t going no where! I’m not claiming to be a parent of hip hop, but I would certainly consider myself a sibling and as with true life siblings I am proud of my sisters and brothers most of the time and sometimes I’m not but I always have their back regardless! :o)

  5. nice blog! i am hip hop so i won’t leave a comment as long as the blog. i was born and raised on hip hop so i relate to this on a totally different level.
    hip hop is alive

  6. I didn’t grow up listening to hip hop but this entry makes me want to go and listen to hear the stories it tells and get to know the narrators. This is a solid entry that makes me proud to now be part of a culture (some would say sub-culture…lol) that allows us to do amazing things on all levels. I like that the entry highlights tolerance and exploration.

    Kudos to the writer 🙂

  7. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this post! Speaks to the power of hip hop to bridge generations, cultures, genders. The vibrance of the hip hop culture is clearly evident in the writer’s experience and I just want to throw up the roc, right here from my desk!!

  8. Wondering how this world is sooo big but can feel so small! We met on line waiting to purchase Jay-Z tickets, We spotted each other at the concert, and bumped into each other 3 years later at “that” famous place of employement! WOW!!! Loved her energy! Loved her vibe and spirit!! God is real. Thank you Jay for coming out of retirement!! Hip Hop lives!!! That concert was well worth the wait in line. Miss Peaches…MY INSPIRATION!!!!! LOVE IT LIVE IT AND TELL IT!!!!

  9. Miss Peaches…what a wonderful blog!!!! Look at how music can transcend ages, masses, generations????? Reminds me of my own grandmother who appreciated ALL good music, whether or not she “liked” the genre…Great work!

Leave a Reply

 
